Agriculture Thread - Doomers Welcome

• Downtime due to DDoS attacks still. I'm waiting on different providers to give me what I need to deal with it long-term.

Sped Xing

!Bigfoot! sightings please call 908-314-7784
kiwifarms.net
@Orange Rhymer wanted to me to make this thread, and what @Orange Rhymer, @Orange Rhymer gets.

So post stuffs regarding making food the old fashioned way, instead of just buying it at the store like a normal person.

About my own experience, with vagueness to avoid PL. I am a meat goat producer in Texas. I am in the process of moving from a 20-40 acre starter farm to one that's 160-200 acres. I have been in the game since 2012, and I've learned a lot the hard way, as well as some from school and outside jobs. Hopefully within a few years I will have ramped up production, while being careful not to overgraze or underbreed, to the point I can support a family from my own land alone. Once I pay off the land loan (a 20 year note) I am confident I can manage without outside income.

I could rattle on forever about breed selection, breeding goals, nutrition, forage production, management techniques, preventive medicine, and so on. It's my only passion in life. But, even if anyone is interested in that, it would make for a TLDR of an OP. So I thought, perhaps, I'd drop a few things to consider if you want to become a farmer just like Sped.

I'm sure you could say all the platitudes for me-- only do this if you love it, hard work and great rewards, be one with nature, yadda. Here's a couple actually useful things off the top of my head.