Book Publishing / Writing Guide Thread -

Books and Writing

• Books really aren't my thing.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Fashy Airship

Baron's Aircrew
kiwifarms.net
They say everyone has a book waiting to be written, which is what this thread is all about, to help and share books we are writing or even have written.

I am an author. I've written and co-written six books so far, but by no means a bona-fide professional or a success. To help those on Kiwifarms who might be writing or starting to write to get books out there, I've put together a mega-post that could come in handy, there's a little plug to my book at the end, but I want this to be more about writing in general and getting independent authors onto the web, especially as it's hard to get noticed now. One example is this one, it's in ebook format so very suitable for the casual reader who doesn't want to drop 10 bucks on a paperback.

Here we go, buckle in and rattle those keys folks.... :)

Writing a book

When you want to write a book, it's important to write something you either know a lot about or enjoy writing about. Both are optimal but having one at the very least will carry the story. What size is important too. A 150,000 to 200,000 word epic is great, a novel length is considered optimal by some and is usually about 70,000 to 110,000 words. Bear in mind the editing and proof-reading will be a lot more grueling than a novella of 50,000 words. The epic length books will struggle with some audiences though, who prefer a shorter story, the shorter the story, the harder it can be to get the details in. That being said a veteran writer won't find this too much of a challenge.

The trend now with everything being digital this and that is for more concise stories, for better or worse.