Critical Theory -

Czargon the Red

kiwifarms.net
I'm going to powerlevel a tiny bit and say that I'm an incoming grad student who suddenly has to buy a textbook on Critical Theory. As far as I know in a layman's terms that it appears to be a way to hammer in a subject in relation to politicizing it. All I have heard are criticisms regarding this theory for not being objective and for being an academic monolith. Could I get some insight from Kiwis that are more familiar with this theory and directions to the non-insane major works surrounding it so I may read without getting infected by this?

• Informative
Reactions: Ciscoipphone

KFU

kiwifarms.net
Check out newdiscourses.com. They are very critical of critical theory from an objectivist perspective. They call it "applied postmodernism" which to me is a useful framing. Some of the writers bloviate a bit, sometimes they are a bit alarmist, and they attract some hard-core conservatives, but in conjunction with other reading it can help provide balance and unpack some of the assumptions in modern critical theory works. Good luck.

Reactions: escapegoat

ADHD

True & Honest Fan
kiwifarms.net
I'm going to powerlevel a tiny bit and say that I'm an incoming grad student who suddenly has to buy a textbook on Critical Theory.
Would you mind sharing the title/authors of the book for those of us who might want to take a peek at the crazy for ourselves?

Getting tard comed

kiwifarms.net
Is that the philosophy where you criticize modern systems by pointing out obvious compromises, but don't actually put forward any practical replacements, serving as useful idiots for globohomo and others?
This is your answer OP. Critical theory is destructive for the sake of being destructive so degeneracy can take its place and be defended without using critical theory to break down degeneracy.