Is the Pinephone any good? -

Sicklick

kiwifarms.net
I just ordered one off Pine64's official website. As of currently, Linux phone technology is still in it's infancy. The only other alternative to Big Tech are dumb phones. I plan on installing Manjaro once I receive the phone. But then again I have no prior Linux experience and just want to get the feel of it so I can get started. It's better than buying an Android or iPhone imo. iPhones have decent security but zero privacy and Androids have neither. Unless you're jailbroken and running a custom ROM, you're compromised by default through Google Voice. And I've heard some people talk about stuff like GrapheneOS or LineageOS, but that's only if you've got a compatible phone, assuming that the manufacturers will even allow root access to begin with. And even then, there's no point in "ungoogling" an already Googled phone. You're still supporting Google and Big Tech by buying an Android. But that's just me.

Baguette Child

so tender and mild
kiwifarms.net
And I've heard some people talk about stuff like GrapheneOS or LineageOS,
Have you looked at any of Purism's stuff? I've heard their Linux phone is coming along pretty nicely, and it has zero Google involved in the hardware or software.

• Optimistic
Reactions: Sir Wesley Tailpipe

Sicklick

kiwifarms.net
Have you looked at any of Purism's stuff? I've heard their Linux phone is coming along pretty nicely, and it has zero Google involved in the hardware or software.