Legacy controls -

JULAY

kiwifarms.net
Does anyone else use legacy controls for first person games? I started playing Wolfenstein and Doom back in the day, when the default was that up and down arrow keys would move forward and back, left and right arrow keys would turn left or right, and strafes were done with the left hand. There was no looking up or down in first person titles from that generation. When Goldeneye came out for N64, the default controls replicated this scheme, left stick moved forward and back, and turned, while C buttons strafed and looked up and down. I played the shit out of Goldeneye and Perfect Dark to the point that when games switched over to the new standard of one stick looks, one stick moves I was (and still am) completely unable to adjust. Unfortunately, lazy ass development studios typically don't include legacy as an option any more, so I've missed out on dozens of well-regarded first person titles over the years.

Anyone else still rock legacy controls?

Exigent Circumcisions

Post tasteful trotter daguerreotypes, ma chère.
kiwifarms.net
No, I adapted so I could keep gaming, although I did got stuck playing with inverted up/down controls (autistic, boring story) and can't go back now. It's actually better if you can get used to it.

Reactions: Notan Alte

Eryngium

Cryptids are a Cute! CUTE!
kiwifarms.net