The Horrors of the "Professional" World - Stories that will make you wonder how we exist.

LordKaT

True & Honest Fan
kiwifarms.net
I've been working in the "professional" world for a while now, both in offices and for myself, and I've learned something very important: human beings are fucking stupid.

Circa 2015. I am a customer facing engineer in a B2B business, and by customer facing I mean I'm the guy that has to talk to other professionals and tell them that they're really dumb, but in the nicest way possible. One of our customers cannot get their headset to work with our product.

The following conversation took place:

Me: "Have you tried restarting the browser?"
Her: "Restart the browser? How do you do THAT?"
Me: "You close it and open it again."
Her: "Oh. How do you close it? Is there a button for that?"
Me: "... the little red X at the top-right of your screen."
Her: "Oh ok. Your product went away though!"
Me: "Yes ma'am. Now open the browser again and go to our page, you'll be able to log in again."
Her: "OK, so what's 'the broswer'?"
Me: "Google Chrome?"
Her: "Yeah it's the program we were using before to access our website."
Her: "Oh, hang on."
*banging noises, like someone is hitting something with a small hammer*
Her: "Ok, I got it open and I'm on your website."
Me: "O... k... now does your headset work?"
Her: "No, it's not working. I can't hear myself in the program."
Me: "... you're not supposed to be able to, but I can't hear you speaking on the program. Let's try unplugging the headset and plugging it back in."
Her: "Oh that sounds like a great idea. One second."
*more banging*
Her: (barely audible) "is that supposed to be there? hm..."
Her: "OK I've unplugged it and plugged it back in!"
Me: "Great, still not audio though, that's a tough one."
Her: "Yeah, what's weird is that this works on the other computer, but not this one. I can't even see the headset as an option on this machine."