When do you think we’ll get into another economic depression? -

Shoggoth

kiwifarms.net
According to some indicators, we may be at the precipice of one, there are two theories floating about, one regarding an inverted yield curve:
1579638432791.png
and one regarding the ration between short and long term interest rates:
1579638469191.png
According to both, we're about to have one any minute now.

Harvey Danger

getting tired of this whole internet thing
kiwifarms.net
Sometime in the next 6-12 months. Then again, I've been saying that since 2014.

Truth is, the economy is so badly fucked with, that we can't tell what it's going to do within a 2 year window. @Shoggoth is correct above that we have a lot of indicators indicating imminent recession, but we've had others showing that for years.

It's literally, seriously possible that the only thing keeping the US economy going right now is Trump bravado causing profitable chaos with Chinese/Mexican trade. American consumers are living off the bump in savings they started after the 2008 recession. Everything the Fed does is numbers on a spreadsheet that doesn't help the economy any more.

If things normalize, whenever that happens and for whatever reason, there might not be enough substance to keep the growth going.

Comandante Marcos

kiwifarms.net
For the rest of the world, the last one never ended. That includes China. MLK Jr.'s son, MLK III, was quoted on the local morning radio news in my city (no, no TV in the Comandante's Bunker) saying that he believed that the supposedly wonderful employment numbers were (my rephrasing) pretty much pulled from Trump's ass, or that of one of his sycophants, and that black unemployment was still around 60% or so.